Smile Through It II: The Next Chapter

Chasing dreams, because I can

  • April 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Archives

  • Recent Tweets

    • RT @rachsyme: here's something to do before the end of the year: if a writer wrote something this year that meant something to you (a book,… 1 day ago
    • RT @strawfie: Right we need 2,000 more signatures for #Orkambi petition - not much when you say it quickly - we've RT'd for loads of people… 1 day ago
    • Oli’s right: there’s no change in families ability to decide what ultimately happens, which is why—presumed consent… twitter.com/i/web/status/9… 1 day ago
    • RT @catreynoldsnyc: MALE REINDEER LOSE THEIR ANTLERS IN WINTER AND FEMALES DON'T THEREFORE SANTA'S SLEIGH IS ACTUALLY PULLED BY A TEAM OF S… 1 day ago
    • RT @HarrymBarham: TWITTER: If anyone hears of any exciting non-profit/charity/political job opportunities in the north east please do let m… 1 day ago
    • May have just realised that secret Santa day is tomorrow and I haven’t bought anything. #awks 1 day ago
    • RT @adamjacques88: Random overheard medical phrase by a doctor of the day: “Septic Shower”. Now I don’t know exactly what that is, but I g… 1 day ago
    • RT @daraobriain: I’m going to blame Catholicism for this, but any time somebody says “May The Force Be With You” I need the other person to… 1 day ago
  • Catagories

Back in the chair

Posted by Oli on Saturday 25th April, 2009

Things keep getting better and better at the moment – I love my life!

Today I was back in the director’s chair for the first time in…well…a long time. And I’ve got to tell you – it’s a fantastic feeling.

I’ve spent a lot of time recently wondering if I really am following the path I want to follow – I’ve been out of the loop so long and become so distant from the dreams I used to have that I find myself wondering if I’ve changed since my transplant and if I’m chasing the dreams of the old me.

I can say with absolute certainty today that I am 100% on the road I want to be on. As I stood in the rehearsal room running through the Snippets scene for the MKT writers’ group showcase on Monday night, working, re-working, talking to the actors, polishing and finessing the piece I was in my element. All of the feelings that rumbled away within me about what I like doing, where my strengths lie, how I approach things came flooding back to me in the briefest of two-hour rehearsals.

I want more than ever to follow my dreams and to chase them down until I catch them at a run. I promised myself before my transplant when I was sitting at home on my sofa day-in, day-out that I would never let myself have just “a job” and that I’d always do something I love and am passionate about. I feel more strongly about that now than ever. Watch out world – here I come!

Leave a Reply

 
