Smile Through It II: The Next Chapter

Chasing dreams, because I can

  • February 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    242526272829  
  • Archives

  • Recent Tweets

  • Catagories

Pancakes

Posted by Oli on Tuesday 5th February, 2008

Hooray for pancake day!  I’m not actually massively addicted to pancakes myself, but K is a bit of a pancake demon and loves to cook them, too (which she happens to be great at).  Not only that, but it’s become a kind of tradition to cook pancakes for her bro’s family (including the little niece and nephew, plus big sis).

All of which means we got to have a grand old time playing, cooking and eating with the littl’uns and ever-so-helpful big sis (who actually took over a little of the cooking).  It also marks the first time since my op – in fact, the first time ever, we think – that I lifted the little ones up for hugs and cuddles.  Both of them were so happy and excited to see us and it was indescribable to finally be able to scoop them up and give them a proper cuddle, rather than having to find a way to crouch down amid oxygen tubing and other gubbins.

Earlier in the day, after a relaxing morning, K and I went out on what must amount to our first proper “date”, to catch a re-screening of The Golden Compass, which has hit cinemas again on limited showings because of it’s nominations for the BAFTAs and Oscars.  Sad to say, though, I loathed it with a passion.  Although I can see how the story is interesting, or at least could well be if told properly in the novels, as I’m reliably informed it is, the film falls way short of an acceptable adaptation.  Apart from anything else, it features some of the worst performances from child “actors” I’ve seen in a very long time – it’s like watching a very poor stage school performance which has paid too much attention to the glitz and glamour without taking the time to drag even vaguely realistic performances from the actors.

The adults do well with what they’ve got but the whole thing left me feeling slightly bored and uninterested, with no real sense of peril or suspense.  K’s told me she’s not sure, having read the books, she’ll be comfortable watching the next two movies, but having seen what I’ve seen today I’m not sure I’d be willing to give up my time to them anyway.

On a brighter note, the massive Xscape building which houses the cinema is also home to a number of out-doorsy-type shops, where we managed to hit the sales and walk away with a bargain pair of water/wind/weather-proof jackets to take away on the various travels we’re starting to plan up, the first of which being a week up in the Lake District for my birthday week in May.  I daresay they may also come in handy if and when we head to Durham at the start of March and Tresco in April.  Like the scouts, we are prepared.

The babies have definitely tired me out today and I’m ready to tuck myself up, but it’s amazing again to be able to reflect on the things I can do with myself now that wouldn’t even have registered on my radar six months ago.

Thanks for all your messages, it’s nice to know that’s it’s not just the two of us who are getting such a pick-me-up from my new start in life.

8 Responses to “Pancakes”

  1. Bruce said

    Have you seen Sweeney Todd yet?

    I’m one of the sharpest critics you’ll meet, but it was amazing. Almost perfect…almost.

    x

  2. Ben said

    Hey Oli and K,

    This is like the best story ever! Just wanted to point this out having read the old blog from the MySpace days! The positivity is truly inspirational, and I send all my love to you both.

    xxx

  3. Suze said

    So glad it’s not just me that thought the film was naff! Can’t see how anyone who has read the books will think it’s any good – they should’ve seen the stage version instead!

  4. elaine said

    i hated that film too.
    child actors…pfff…
    everyone thinks i’m just bitter about them getting opportunities..blah blah blah, but they’re really really bad.

    i had my first pancakes ever yesterday!
    my best friend came round and dressed up as father christmas and we made pancakes (long story..)

    anyway, another brilliant blog! 😀
    you’re far braver than me to even set foot in outdoor shops!
    xx

  5. Audrey said

    I haven’t seen the Golden Compass but I’ll second the Sweeney Todd film as being well worth a watch. And Johnnie’s English accent has improved since last time I heard it.

    K, could you pop over and make me some pancakes? Mine were disastrous which is odd because I could make them when I was at primary school 😕

  6. Tom said

    Hi Oli,

    Great to see you getting out and about. Your comments about child actors made me chuckle. I thought some of the kids in the BBC’s recent adaptation of Oliver Twist were awful-more wood than IKEA! But yo’re not supposed to say so….

    Enjoy life my friend, be well.

  7. Lizzie83 said

    I was very dissapointed by the golden compass and not just because it took on the american title! I’ve read the books but thought the film was very all over the place and hard to follow if you hadn’t read the books. Child actors were sh*t.

    Recently saw sweeney todd and liked it (i’m a musical whore though), although one of the songs annoyed me greatly and in tradiational musical sense, that was the one that got repeated a lot. Johnny depp and Helena BC were excellent though and their songs were very good. I also loved the story which i didn’t know before seeing it.

    Also saw cloverfield last weekend – not good. over hyped. i was not scared, midly bored and occasionally nauseas from the camera. Might have been better with a bigger buget to make the most of the effects but otherwise the effects were laughable. I feel like i’m on my own though with this opinion.

    Don’t know if you really wanted a film review by me but there ya go 😉

    I’m really looking forward to Juno.

    Glad to hear you had a good pancake day with family. I didnt’ get any this year as i was in hospital – booo!

    Lizzie xxxx

  8. sarah said

    i didnt like the golden compass, but having read all three books, i did feel there was so much more to the story than was showed on film. They didnt even get to the end of ‘Northern Lights’ with the film. I felt short changed. Nicole liked it a lot, but she is 7.

    I have seen ‘Sweeny Todd’, I loved it, but i am a die hard Johny depp fan [blush], and did spend quite a bit of the film drooling, much to Peters disgust lol.

    i also had to sit through Alien v Predator (Requim?) last week, but it bored me, mainly because its just not my sort of film.

    i have been to the cinema a lot recently with Peter, as its soemthing we can enjoy together, minus the children. I;m not sure what we wil legt to see next week, any recommendations Mr O?

Leave a Reply

 
