Smile Through It II: The Next Chapter

Chasing dreams, because I can

  • Catagories

Erm…Again…(Update)

Posted by Oli on Monday 21st January, 2008

The inside four walls of Harefield hospital are starting to become depressingly familiar.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s a great place, with experienced medical teams who are – in my humble opinion – second to none. But every now and then – just occasionally, mind – I do find myself wishing I could spend more than 4 days in a row at home without getting myself admitted back onto E ward. Or F. Or any alphabetical character’d ward in the place.

Give me my due, though, at least I’m giving the docs a variety of ailments to deal with – Heaven forbid I should make their job dull and repetitive. First off we had high Tac levels, swiftly followed by good, strong infection, chased down with Norovirus with a sprinkling of chestiness and now we have my first official episode of rejection.

Now, I’m assured by people who know a lot more about these things than me that this is perfectly normal within the first year and particularly the first few months and is nothing to be worried about.

My lung function hasn’t picked up since the touch of infection last week, indeed it’s dropped back ever so slightly, and combined with a stubbornly low level of Tac in my blood, the doc’s are left to presume that, what with my infective markers all dropping and me feeling grand in myself, rejection is top of the list of possibilities.

What this means is a wee holiday on the ward so they can perform a bronchoscopy tomorrow (Tuesday) morning to take a biopsy of the lung tissue to have a good look-see.
For those of you who prefer non-medical, they’re gonna chuck a camera down me gob and snip out some bits of me blowers to see what’s causing the hissy fits.

To say I’m scared would be to over-state it – I have a team I trust 100% here and if they say it’s cool I believe it’s cool – but I still can’t escape the niggling reminders that they last time I was knocked out for a “routine procedure” I woke up a day later in ITU on a ventilator and dialysis. Not fun.

Doubtless this is all going to go a lot smoother, but I will certainly be glad to see the ward staff at lunchtime tomorrow and know it for sure.

For the time being, I’m now enjoying my stay in my 4th room on E ward, my 5th room between E and F in the last 2 months and that’s not counting the two spells on ITU.

One day I swear I’ll get to spend a whole week at home with my new lungs. Now that’s gonna be a novelty.

 Update…Oli is fine, just a bit of a sleepy head because of the general anaesthetic.  Unfortunately we haven’t seen the doctors so don’t know how it went but we are working on the assumption that if there was anything serious they’d have been in to see him before now.  Will post news tomorrow once we’ve got biopsy results.   K  x

14 Responses to “Erm…Again…(Update)”

  1. Rosie said

    The best of luck to you! I know it really doesn’t make you feel much better but I’ve had rejection before. I’m now 18months out and on a stable tac dose. I found the first few months like a series of traffic lights on a dual carrige way: When I got green I’d set off flying only to come to a red shortly after! But I’m here and really not looking back! Good luck again, always reading and hoping for the best =)

  2. Viks said

    Hello, I read your blog every day but don’t post very often. Just wanted to let you know I’m thinking of you and hope tomorrow goes well. Love Viks

  3. Jayne said

    Good luck for today Oli. Hope all goes good with the stuff being chucked down your gob… (you put it so eloquently….).

    Love

    Jayne

    xxx

  4. Emily said

    oh…..rubbish! Don’t blame you for getting nervous Mr, I wold definitely be so too.

    And as I know everyone has already told you…nearly everyone has a bout of rejection in their first year.

    Incidentally, you are also only 2 months in and still a mile ahead of where some people (for example me) were at this stage. So I know that doesn’t make it any less frustrating but as far as indications long term, this has none, the first 3 months are supposed to be rocky. Which is still annoying but at least you know you’re normal. Well ish. 😉 Looking forward to hearing from you post bronch x

  5. Alaistair said

    Really hope today passes quickly for you and you can escape back home soon. You will be in our thoughts….

  6. Sue & Mike said

    we’re winging up some prayers for you Oli.

    Love Mike and Sue xxx

  7. Guy Jones said

    Hey SuperOli (let’s not forget that one!) hope all went well and you are now home again. Talk of rejection does sound scary but as you have such trust in your team, and they’ve got you this far, I’m sure they’re right and ‘it’s cool’. Anyways, you’re the coolest bloke I know.

    Lots of love

    Guy x

  8. Frizzymum said

    Looking forward to hearing from you soon hunny. I have everything crossed in the meantime! xx

  9. Hope all went well for you today. Never give up. Life even without CF is full of ups and downs. 🙂

  10. Aimee and mum said

    You in our thoughts and prayers, hope that this is just a hiccup in your progress..and that you will soon be vback at home and enjoying life to the full again xx

  11. elaine said

    sending lots of love your way oli
    i’m sure it’ll be fine, you’ll be up and about again in no time xxx

  12. Liz Upton said

    Sending loads of love and thinking about you. Ugh. Hope the after-effects of the general aren’t too horrible, and that you pick up soon. xxx

  13. suzie said

    Oh bugger!

    All fairly normal at this stage chuck but no less worrying for you. Here’s hoping you’re up and about and home for a much longer stay once this is sorted, and it will be.

    Loadsa love
    All in Chester.

  14. Katie Hammond said

    Just caught up with your blog, so sorry to hear that you are back in again, but really glad to read K’s update. I hope you’re feeling better after your op very soon, and that they can get any rejection under control for you. Take care, you’re in my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

 
