Smile Through It II: The Next Chapter

Chasing dreams, because I can

  • January 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives

  • Recent Tweets

  • Catagories

All roads have speedbumps

Posted by Oli on Tuesday 8th January, 2008

Today was not such a good day.  I’m not 100% sure just yet what it was, but something didn’t agree with me today and I’ve spent the day feeling extremely tired and sick – not a whole load of fun.

Having said that, I did still manage to walk to the local shops and back to get a paper (have to keep up with it because I’m collecting the Guardian’s Army Fitness Regime, which is running all week), which I was really proud of – not least because it was really hard work walking back up the hill but I still did it without stopping.

I did discover a minor downfall/hiccup in my walking plans, though – my body only seems to know how to walk at one pace.  Every time I set off walking, I set off at a march.  Great stuff for when I’m trudging my way downhill to the shops to grab the paper, but not so good when the hill slopes the other way.  I set off out the front door of the shop this afternoon and headed up towards home and within 30 metres I was shattered.  It took me a second recovering my breath at a road crossing to realise that it’s actually OK not to walk flat-out all the time.

Still, even walking at no-100% effort, I still worked up a good sweat and got myself out of breath, which is the main idea of the walk anyway.

As for the sickness, my guess is that it’s down to the charming new drug they’ve put me on, the once-a-week Fosomax (Alendronic Acid), which is designed to counter-act the effect of the steroids I’m on in weakening my bones.  Specifically, according to the leaflet, it’s for “post-menopausal osteoporosis” – my docs clearly neglected to mention that a side-effect of transplant is the menopause.  I’m gutted.

Anyway, if it does prove to be the pills, then at least I know that by the time it’s worked its way out of my system tomorrow morning, I’ll be feeling much better.  It’s only once a week, so I’m sure I’ll learn to tolerate it in the long run, however horrible it might seem right now.

Tomorrow, if I feel better, promises to be a better day, with the potential of a trip to the cinema and/or Borders on the cards it should be a great way to cheer myself up after a dip in form.

5 Responses to “All roads have speedbumps”

  1. sarah said

    hi
    The AA can take a bit of getting used to. peter takes his sunday mornings when the kids get up, waits half an hour, then gets ready with all his other meds. And I get to lie in bed untill 10am [happy sigh]

    Good going with the walking, keep it up.

    Will we see you at the Harefield Fun Run in september? 😉

    Sarah

  2. sandy said

    Good on you for keeping up the walking! Im on Alondrenic Acid to Oli and it some times has the exact same effect on me…. so that could be the prob…. Hope your feeling better today x x

  3. Emmie said

    “It took me a second recovering my breath at a road crossing to realise that it’s actually OK not to walk flat-out all the time.”

    I wish I could have shown you that quote a couple of months back!!! ;o) xxxxxxx

  4. Alaistair said

    My daughter would recommend The Gold Compass as a must see film, I also heard a very good review of “I am Legend”, bit scary so not a relaxing experience!
    Hope your having a better day today (Wednesday)..

  5. Hayley said

    Hi Oli sorry you have had a bit of a rough day today, but just think that if you are good, do as you are told and get a good nights sleep you can go to borders, which I must admit is one of my favourite places to go, I can spend hours and hours there, the coffee is not great but they have sofas and a wicked kids section, should be right up your street. hee hee.
    Take care and if you go the the flicks enjoy the popcorn yum yum.
    Love Hayley
    xxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

 
