Smile Through It II: The Next Chapter

Chasing dreams, because I can

  • December 2007
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives

  • Recent Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Catagories

Oli gets wireless (or near enough)

Posted by Oli on Friday 7th December, 2007

In case you haven’t read it, please check out the ‘A message from your host’ post which is before this, it’s a very special post that I know you’ll want to read.  I wasn’t keen on writing over it but I’ve had my orders to keep everyone updated and now Oli can run faster than me I’d better not make him grumpy!

Today has been anothr great day, I really can’t think of a time when I’ve been as happy as this, it’s the best feeling in the world. 

When Oli’s Mum and I got in to see him this morning we found a sad and tired Oli who didn’t really want to play this game anymore, I think the night on dialysis hadn’t helped him get any sleep and the extra fluid around his body (all 8 litres of it, not nice) was making him so unformfortable that he didn’t know where to put himself.  Oli’s Mum got sent off pretty quickly to go on an apple juice hunt and I just sat myself near him, at the end of his bed.  After a couple of quiet minutes he looked at me and said “I need to pull myself out of this don’t I?” and we came to the decision that I was going to put some music on the cd player (thanks Kate!) and Oli was going to sit up and be more positive.  From that moment on Oli’s day just got better and better, and better!

The Big Head Dude Doc Man (who needs capital letters because he is that important) came in to see Oli and decided that the majority of his remaining wires, tubes and drain should be taken off.  We were so happy!  The central line, which has 3 or 4 lines in it and is in no way connected to the London Tube, in Oli’s neck has been removed and instead they have re-accessed Oli’s portacath which will be used for his IV drugs.  The arterial line (I don’t know what this was for, I think it may have been blood gases) from his groin has been removed, the final chest drain has been removed and he is no longer on the cardiac monitor. 

The reason for all of this, apart from being well enough to be taken off of everything, is because of all this nasty extra fluid.  The overnight filtering has really helped, last night 2 litres of extra fluid were removed by this dialysis machine, but the body will be able to shift the fluid much more easily if Oli is able to do more physio, which in turn is easier to do when wireless.  The lines in Oli now are the port when it’s in use, the vas-cath (in his groin where he connects up to the dialysis machine at night) and his catheter.  Hopefully the vas-cath will come out tomorrow and once the extra fluid comes down and they are needing to check his urine output so much, the catheter will also get removed.  I’m not sure how long they will give Oli the IV drugs but at some point they will stop using his port and give him oral antibiotics instead.

This evening Oli doubled his 40m record.  It’s so amazing!  I wasn’t there for it but Oli phoned me to tell me and the joy and emotion in his voice made me want to cry with happiness – this is someone who 3 weeks ago was really quite poorly and got out of breath getting out of bed, this really has been the gift of a lifetime for Oli, and for us.  Oli was telling me how he walked from his room to the end of the ward and back and said that the nurses were beaming at him and the kitchen porter guy (official title, I’m sure) was cheering him on and telling him how good he looked!  Oli also said how he met a nurse he hasn’t met yet, she asked him what he’d had done and that made him realise HE hasn’t told anyone yet – lots of people know but not from him, for the first time he said ‘I had a double lung transplant nearly 3 weeks ago’ and when he looked over and saw his nurse’s face, Oli could see exactly why this nurse did his job, Oli said it was such a picture.

This evening Oli was able to spend a lot of time with his Big Bro who has come up to see him for the weekend, this is the same legendary Big Bro who gave the butt kicking last week.  Wow, must this be a different Little Bro he is seeing!  Following his legendary form, Big Bro has set Oli a challenge that has been agreed to (witnessed by Oli’s Dad, so no getting out of it).  On April 10th 2008 Oli will run alongside his Bro and his Bro’s marines for the first mile of the CF Trust’s Tresco Marathon.  How unbelievable is that?!  I’m thinking that all those who promised to wield big sticks at the previous exercise programme might need to get those sticks out again!

Bring it on!

20 Responses to “Oli gets wireless (or near enough)”

  1. shelley nunan said

    lol useless note really – arterial line for blood sampling n blood pressure monitoring ( i’m a kids itu nurse lol)

  2. Ellen Preston said

    Hi Oli and K – so good to read about your week – and I thought we had been busy!!!! So good to hear you being so positive – keep it up and always remember you are never alone! A walk on Tresco was mentioned – is that as in Isles of Scilly? Let us know – could be interesting now that we are located in the south-west – and I hope you will include Barnstaple in your itinerary!! lol Ellen

  3. Bruce said

    Lovely, lovely.

    x

  4. Emily said

    Yay yay and more YAY!! Rock on Mr Oli, am loving reading these updates. Will be sending K some pics of Budapest when I get back to bore you with. 😀 xx

  5. Jean Hunter said

    Thanks for the update I’m sitting here with a big smile on my face it’s just wonderful news. I guess we’ll all have to start our training programmes for marathons next year – that includes Oli’s mum!!! Keep up the good work everybody and a big hug to Oli. Lots of love Jean xxx

  6. Bev and Lucy Pearson said

    I too am sat here with a smile on my face after reading both of the updates and also tears of joy in my eyes, but then I am over emotional today anyway! Transplantation is truly amazing and is the ultimate gift that someone can give. It makes such a huge difference…..

    Keep up the good work Oli, let’s hope the dialysis stops soon and that you get the fluid shifting when doing physio.

    All our love to you all
    Bev xx

  7. Emmie said

    This post has given me goosebumps and made me feel so happy!!! Just what I needed on a grey, wet, cold day! Don’t worry Oli, you’re certainly not missing out on the weather ;o) You are a total star, a bright and twinkly and shiny one at that. Lots of love to you, K and all your superdooper family! This is gonna be some Xmas!!!! xxxxx

  8. Katie H said

    Wow, just read the last two posts – Oli it was so great to read the message you had written, and then equally great to hear K’s message – good luck with your marathon challenge!!

  9. suzie said

    Stick being sharpened pronto. Brilliant news that things are being removed and that big bro is being bossy 😉

  10. elaine said

    excellent, i love hearing about other people exersizing 🙂 especially when i’m sitting here, stick well poised, and in my other hand, a big ol’ bar of chocolate 🙂

    i needed a bit of cheering up today, this blog gave me it 🙂
    xxx

  11. Frizzymum said

    Fab stuff Mr Lewington, keep it up! Looking forward to catching up with you soon. Xx

  12. Linda & Ian Rowe said

    Read this one this morn, after reading previous one from Our Champ. Result: Have spent all day with a big, big rosy feeling. Inspirational. One step..huge step…mile. B%**$£ fantastic. xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  13. Suze and Gary said

    Just got back from two days without computer access… bloody brilliant to be back and hear how well you’re doing! I get the feeling you’re going to put us to shame. Think we may need our own sticks to get us all up and active in the new year! xxx

  14. Kate said

    Fanatastic news!!! Great to hear from you both. Massive hugs to you all x x x

  15. Lizzie83 said

    Great news that Oli is now (almost) wireless :-). Hopefully oli can shift all that fluid soon as it is most uncomfortable (though i’ve never had 8 litres! eep)! Speedy recovery indeed 🙂
    Lizzie xxx

  16. Gemma Sanderson said

    Hi Oli, we only heard your news today, its something everyone has been wishing for you for a very long time. Wishing you every piece of luck in the world Oli, keep us updated with yours and Kati’s blogs!

    Love Gemma (used to be Winfield!)
    Love also sent from Glenda and Ian

    xxxxx

  17. Gemma Sanderson said

    p.s…..love to all your family!

  18. Aimee said

    keep up the brilliant work oli.. your a star.. and guess what everytime I go to do panto I see the my friend Oli poster backstage and I think of you nd how great you are doing! big hugs xx

  19. Christopher Hunter said

    To Oli good to see you are getting on so fantastically it is a great recovery.
    Love you lots
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  20. Christopher Hunter said

    Hi Oli you are doing some great work hope you are getting better it is really fantastic news to hear see you soon.
    Lots of love XXXXXXXXXXXX

Leave a Reply

 
