Smile Through It II: The Next Chapter

Chasing dreams, because I can

  • Catagories

Happy Days

Posted by Oli on Thursday 6th December, 2007

I’ve had such a lovely day and am in such a happy mood tonight, the world is so fab right now!

Today I spent the whole day with Oli as I haven’t seen him for a couple of days and I had lots to catch up on.  Oli seems really good and there’s not much to report to although it may mean boring reading, it actually means things are going well.

The morning was a blur of drugs, floor washing, Oli washing, Oli eating – pretty run of the mill stuff but this afternoon the physio’s decided it was time for Oli to see the outside world and show him that life is carrying on.  It was a bit of a task to get him into a wheelchair with wires and oxygen and drain and drip stand – we definitely held up the corridor for more than a couple of people!  It was so great to get him out and about and show him that the Christmas decorations have been put up in reception and where we sat waiting to go into ITU.  Perhaps more excitingly than any of that, we found a vending machine that has Oreos in it, I promptly bought 3 packets in case they decide to stop selling them!  On the way back we got to the magic white spot which is on the floor just inside the double doors of the ward.  This spot is where everyone takes their first steps and sees how they cope with walking after being in bed for a while.  Oli walked 40 metres back to his room and completely shocked himself when his legs felt wobbly but he wasn’t even out of breath!  It was quite funny to see him sit down in the chair and watch the emotion completely overwhelm him, it was almost possible to see his brain trying to take in what he had just done.  He didn’t stop the exercise there, as soon as he was sat down in the chair in his room, he asked for the foot pedals to be brought over and he did two sets of 3 minutes, one after the other!  The determination he has is phenomenal, truly astounding.

The afternoon was much like this morning, completely busy and barely 10 minutes without it being time for something to start or stop.  The chyle drain has stopped, we think, but it was being left in overnight just to make certain and may come out tomorrow.  Tonight Oli is on dialysis again but only because he is retaining so much fluid and it is starting to make him feel so uncomfortable that the dialysis should give the body a helping hand at balancing out the fluids.  Oli was also told this evening that after the weekend it is likely that the staples from the transplnt wound will be taken out.  I don’t know how he feels about it as I didn’t get a chance to ask but I know that I feel like having the staples removed makes it that much more real as it means he has healed well and is getting better.  It’s an odd feeling, happy but odd.

I love visiting Oli, it’s great just to be in his company and sit and chat or sit and chill.  It’s really great to know that it’s ok to be in a room with each other and not feel the need to talk all the time.  It’ll be so great when you can all come and visit him (not at once as his room is quite small) and see the change in him and see how alive he looks now, you’ll notice it straight away.

Thank you so much for your kind messages, it really helped my confidence yesterday knowing that you guys were thinking of me.  I have completely fallen in love with UCL and although I’ve tried really hard not to set my heart on studying there as soon as I saw it I really felt it was the place for me.  I’m not sure how it went, the interviewers were very experienced and didn’t give even the slightest hint or smile that you had said the right thing.  They’ve promised that we will hear by Christmas.  I am happy that I gave the best answers I could have and now it is up to them.  I’ll let you know if it’s good news when I receive their letter.

11 Responses to “Happy Days”

  1. Emmie said

    What a WONDERFUL blog to read, it’s made me feel so smiley! So glad that things are going well and that you are spending time together with those rubbish old lungs out of the picture! I can’t wait to see a photo of Oli at some point, I bet he looks really different already – I love seeing how pink people look post transplant! Please send him my love again and tell him we are all thinking of him constantly. Look after yourself too, you are fab! :o) xxxxx

  2. Christopher Hunter said

    What FANTASTIC news to hear that Oli is making GREAT progress, we’re all walking around with big smiles on our faces. I am really PLEASED to hear Oli can walk and do exercise in the fresh air. I can’t wait to see him i am really EXCITED about his recovery. Keep up the good work Oli. We are all thinking of you.
    Lots of love Christopher (God child)
    xxxxxxxxxxxx

  3. Emily said

    Woohoo! We love blog posts like this we do 😀

    Hope the dialysis does the trick, it worked wonders for my fluid retention and I felt loads more comfortable afterwards so hope it can do the same for Oli. Best of luck with UCL hon….x

  4. Alice said

    Oooh gosh, you made me properly tear up reading about him walking and taking it in! How amazing it must have been to breathe in fresh air into his lully new blowers!

    Well done on the interview, sounds like it was pretty hard work. I certainly know what it’s like to get no response from people you’re meeting in auditions, makes you quiz yourself for hours doesn’t it! I have no doubt you did brilliantly and they’d be genuinely lucky to have you!

    Give Oli a huuuge hug from me, I’m going away for Christmas soon and will be thinking of you all every day and logging in as often as I can. And of course texting!

    Really hope to see you once I get back Oli!

    Lot’s of love as always,
    Alice x

  5. Katie said

    So happy to read this post, great news that Oli and you had such a good day yesterday and to hear that he is already walking is fantastic. Hope the postie brings you the news you want from UCL, that’d just top of the start of a great new year for you both.

  6. Suze and Gary said

    You know I’m a soppy bugger anyway but this really made the tears trickely down my cheeks – I’m so pleased and happy for you both. Slightly gutted that I can’t see you this weeked and give you a huge hug but it can wait till next week (but not much longer than that!)

    Speak soon
    S&G xxxxx

  7. Linda & Ian Rowe said

    What a great read. Tears in the eyes, lumps in the throat. What terrific and encouraging progress. Hugs and love. x x x

  8. Audrey Eade said

    Fabulous news all round – well done both of you xx

  9. Bruce said

    That made my day. Both you and him.

    Hugs, love, grins, as much as you need =D

    xxx

  10. sarah said

    Oh wow!
    Crossing my fingers for UCL good news.

    And well done Oli for seeing the outside world, and walking from the magic white spot. Its truely amazing when they walk that corridor the first time.

    Stock up on the Oreo cookies as that vending machine doesnt always have them (its the one past main reception? next to the drinks machine, hidden away in a corner? is that right?)

    We are back at Harefield on Wednesday again, if i feel well enough (still recovering boo hoo), I will be dropping off xmas cards to the ward, and will wave at Oli’s door.

    sarah

  11. suzie said

    :D:D:D

    Brilliant!

    xxx

Leave a Reply

 
