Smile Through It II: The Next Chapter

Chasing dreams, because I can

  • Catagories

Breakfast

Posted by Oli on Thursday 22nd November, 2007

Super quick  note but this made me giggle, I wasn’t there but this is what I imagined happened – the gist is true.

Doc: Good morning Oli, look, if you can eat more today we’ll take out more drains from you. 

 Oli: (having already eaten 2 weetabix for breakfast)  Ok doc, in that case can I have 2 more weetabix and some toast?  Thanks.

10 Responses to “Breakfast”

  1. Debbie (Aka Dubeerie) said

    Hi Oli & Co,

    This is amazing news and sounds like the Oli is showing just how much of a SUPERMAN he really is. I will pray that his recovery keeps up at this pace.

    Last night I sent an angel to watch over Oli whilst he slept but the angel came back early. I asked why and it said that angels don’t watch over other angels.

    I have to say one blog that I remember ready of Oli said:

    “It goes beyond what you’d call “frustration” – it’s so much more than that. I was overwhelmingly angry as I stood there feeling utterly useless and debilitated. The trouble was, I don’t really know what I was angry at. I’m not even sure there is a something to be angry at.
    I was just angry. And as if to rub hard-crusted rock salt into the gaping jaws of a shimmering, seeping wound I couldn’t even summon up enough air in my lungs to scream in frustration.
    It strikes me as the ultimate sort of irony that the next time I have enough energy and breathe to scream at how sh*tty it all is, I’ll be passed it and won’t need to scream.
    But I can’t tell you how much I’m looking forward to whatever the first thing to really rile me post-transplant is, because boy is something going to get it full-blast.
    So a word to the wise – be nice to me after my op, you never know when I’m gonna blow.”

    Well Oli, when you are ready bring it on…lol Keep it up mate and much love and prayers to you, K and family and friends.

    PS. Thanks K for your fabulous updates they are really very much appreciated.

  2. sarah said

    oh well done on the eating oli. thats amazing, Peter struggled with food at first and it took him a while to even THINK about eating toast.

    We are up that way on tuesday for clinic, i may pop my head round to say hi, or bang on your window lol.

  3. Jac said

    What fantastic news! The progress being made is astounding – hope it continues at this amazing pace so Oli can get on with using these new puffers. Thinking of Oli and family just now, and keeping everything crossed for a smooth road ahead.

    Jac xx

  4. Bradley said

    Fantastic news for you Oli. The Lord family over in Detroit sends its very best, keep on fighting and hope everything keeps on going as well as it has done so far.

    It’s Thanksgiving over here, with a dusting of snow on the ground, and we will be giving thanks today. All the best mate.

    Bradley & Co.

  5. Alice said

    Brilliant, made me giggle too!

    Keep it up Oli, we’re all so so proud of you!

    Thank you so much for all these blogs K, we really appreciate you taking the time to involve us all!
    A xx

  6. jen said

    Hey Oli!!!!

    You really are a super-human! I’m over the moon at your astounding recovery and so so so happy you are already enjoying your new puffers a mere 3 days after having them plumbed in

    Thanks to Kati for updating us too, take of yourself as well

    Jen x

  7. Suze said

    Oli, I couldn’t ask for a better birthday present then to hear how well you’re doing – I certainly won’t be forgetting this one in a hurry! You’re amazing I we lve you very much and can’t wait to see you soon. xxx

  8. Frizzymum said

    I’m not at all surprised – I always thought Oli was “a 3 shredded wheat” kinda guy! (sorry – showing my age again there!).

  9. suzie said

    A roast dinner for brekkie tomorrow then is it, thats worth at least two drains. Brill to hear such good progress reports, keep truckin chuck.

    Love to all the family and a huge thank you to K for the updates from yet another avid reader.

    xxx

  10. Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyy!

    Go Oli! Go Oli!!!

    Hugs,

    Becky, Adrian, Seren & Dylan xxx

Leave a Reply

 
