Smile Through It II: The Next Chapter

Chasing dreams, because I can

  • Catagories

My mini library

Posted by Oli on Tuesday 24th July, 2007

I’ve come to the conclusion that if I’m going to be sitting around on my rump for the greater part of the passing days, then I might at least put the working parts of my body to good use and exercise my eyes and brain by learning some new stuff.

So in a spirit of adventure, I have embarked upon devouring the full 800-odd closely-typed pages of a biography of Churchill written by a man so famous that his name eludes me and shall continue to do until I clamber into bed this evening, seeing as I’m not inclined to rise myself from my typing post to go and check it now.

(The thought has just occurred to me that I could check the author’s name on Amazon, and even provide a link to said biography, save for the very important fact that it would interrupt my flow and my stream-of-consciousness would become merely a trickle.)

It’s heavy going, for sure, and I’m only managing about a chapter a day – any more and I don’t think I’d take any of it on board – but it’s fascinating stuff.  He was quite an impressive bloke that Churchill, not just bowler hats and cigars, you know.

I’m also working my way through the Alastair Campbell Diaries, which are just as fascinating, albeit in a very different way.  They’re much more easy to read and digest, too and being in daily-diary format (my personal preference for historical/biographic material) are much easier to pick up and put down.

I say easier to pick up, actually they’re mildly hard since they’re about the same numberr of pages, but in hardback not softcover, making Alastair Campbell more weighty than Churchill and I bet that’s not something oft said.

Given the political bent to my current reading, I have developed something of an obsession with it over the past few weeks and have additionally to my real-world reading, spent a lot of today online learning all about the parliamentary process and goings on in the Houses of Parliament.

They say you learn something new everyday, which is undoubtedly true, but by my judgement, I can after today go for the next eight and a half weeks without learning a thing and still hit my average for the quarter.

Other than that, I’ve not done much today.  Harefield tomorrow – I’m going to lobby them with my new-found political powers to bump me up to the top of the list and get my butt-sittery days behind me.

9 Responses to “My mini library”

  1. Bruce said

    Well I read Harry Potter.

    Because I’m a big boy.

    xxx

  2. elaine said

    but, the important thing is….

    i read it faster than bruce.
    xxx

  3. Bruce said

    Ah. But.

    I enjoyed it more.

    (Sorry, Oli…you might want to turn a blind eye while we turn your blog into a bitchfight arena.)

    xxx

  4. elaine said

    only because you’re not old enough to be cynical yet 😛

    (and yes…oli this is happening with best regards to you…but..perhaps turn a blind eye…)

    it was just a tad cheesey….predictable…and too happy…

    but still.

    the point remains.
    i beat bruce.
    by 2 days.
    xxx

  5. Bruce said

    How dare you.

    I am very cynical.

    Do you know me at all?

    (We still love you, Oli)

    By enjoy it, I merely meant I took more time to take it in, before finally coming to terms with the fact that I have read Harry Potter for good.

    And anyway, it was my mum’s birthday, I didn’t get a chance.

    And you know what else?

    You smell.

    (Elaine. Not Oli. Oli’s lovely.)

    xxx

  6. elaine said

    aww…mum’s birthday..
    you should have given her a copy as well.

    and i enjoyed it fully thank you very much, certainly more so than you, because i read it without stopping and starting, got the whole effect.

    and i do not smell.
    at least, not half as much as you.
    (again, bruce not oli.glory hosanna no.)
    xxx

  7. rob said

    Can’t join in the debate about who read Harry Potter first as I haven’t read any of them but is the writer of the biography Lord Jenkins, or just Roy to his mates or commoners like me?
    (Also on the Harry Potter subject if there is others like me that haven’t read it but wonder who died – cheat, Google it like I did! That way you don’t have to bother with the whole book)

  8. Bruce said

    =o

    You can’t do that!

    xxx

  9. elaine said

    on this occasion, and this occasion alone.
    i shall second bruce.
    xxx

Leave a Reply

 
