Smile Through It II: The Next Chapter

Chasing dreams, because I can

  • May 2007
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jul »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives

  • Recent Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Catagories

It’s finally here…

Posted by Oli on Thursday 24th May, 2007

No, not my birthday – that’s tomorrow.

No, I’m being much more materialistic today: I’ve got my huge, lovely, big, fast, super-specially brilliant new Mac Pro sitting on my desk in the study just begging me to get creative (and, in a little voice, to play Championship Manager, too).

It feels like it’s been an age since I ordered it but yesterday it finally got here and I’ eventually found it amongst all its packaging.  Mind you, I think it speaks volumes about a product when even the boxes it comes in are cool.

It’s only taken 24-hours of head-banging, shop-tripping, telephone-helplining to get the whole thing off the ground and doing what it’s suppose to, but now it’s flying at full mast, there’s no stopping me.

Well, I say that, but I suppose if you’re going to make the most of a state-of-the-art editing system, you really need some projects to edit.   Which, I suppose, means I’ve got to get to work making some projects.  But of course, I can’t talk about those, because we all know what happens when I discuss my future plans on here.

I could instead go into incredible detail about how I’ve spent my day since 6am this morning (yes, I was up at 6, no, I have no idea why) trying to puzzle my way around the various internet-connection problems I came across, or I could regale you with tales of the unbelievably complex and cool software I spent the afternoon installing.  I could even slide in a witty anecdote about my trip to Maplins at lunchtime.

But I’m not going to.  Because a) you really don’t care that much and b) neither do I.  The point is, I’ve got it, it’s here, it’s ready to go and now the fun can really begin.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to play Championship Manager until K gets home from college…

6 Responses to “It’s finally here…”

  1. Nick and Mel said

    Woo Hoo.
    You have come of age Oli my boy. Champ manager/football manager are the reason computers were invented.
    I’ll get K to come round to see the niece and nephew more often so your transfers can go ahead. At last I can give you a tip. Always save before the big games so you can reload if you lose. Oh and edit like hell so you have loads of cash
    Talk soon Oli and an early Happy birthday from us
    Nick and Mel

  2. Emmie said

    Wooo hooo! So glad you have your new shiny toy just in time for your Birthday Oli! What is it with guys and Championship Manager?!! Brad can’t understand why I sit on the computer on Msn for hours but put him in front of CM and he’d probably still be sat there in a weeks time glued to it! Sending you lots of love for tomorrow xxx

  3. Emily said

    You know if I were you I would set up a stupidly big and difficult project (like LFL) and then you are sure to be called… 😉 Yay for new toy! 😀 x

  4. A, E, G & J said

    Happy Birthday!!!!!

    Hope you have a good one.

    Love to K.

    XXX

  5. elaine said

    i’m going to have to admit that i’m insanely jealous of you, as i am of everyone in the world who has a mac. I believe beyond any shadow of a doubt that i should have one, i have tried my hardest to convince my parents of this and they still refuse to listen to reason… *sigh* one day…

    have fun with it! and keep it nice and shiny 🙂
    xx

  6. Katie said

    Happy Birthday for yesterday, I hope you had a lovely day.

Leave a Reply

 
